CHILDREN of the GODS

BOOK ONE

OPPRESSION

There are others like her. Many of them. And they have been waiting for her a long time...

 

Elyse knows what it means to keep a secret. She's been keeping secrets her whole life. Two, actually. First, that she ages five times slower than average people, so that while she looks eighteen years old, she's closer to eighty.

 

Second, that her blood has a mysterious power to heal. For Elyse, these things don't make her special. They make life dangerous. After the death of her parents, she's been careful to keep her secret as closely guarded as possible. Now, only one other person in the world knows about her age and ability.
 

Or so she thinks.
 

Elyse is not the only one keeping secrets. There are others like her all over the world, descendants of the very people the Greeks considered gods. She is one of them, and they have been waiting for her for a long time. Some are waiting for her to put an end to centuries of traditions that have oppressed their people under the guise of safeguarding them. Others are determined to keep her from doing just that. But for Elyse, the game is just beginning - and she's not entirely willing to play by their rules.

The Children of the Gods is based on the idea that the Greek gods were never really gods at all, but a secret race that has been living among us for centuries. Fans of Shatter Me, Percy Jackson, Divergent, and Harry Potter will love this series.

This book is for anyone who loves:

  • Greek mythology

  • Young Adult love stories

  • Supernatural abilities

  • Books with a dystopian twist

PRAISE FOR

OPPRESSION

Putting this book down was punishment and I couldn't rest my weary eyes until I'd glimpsed every last word. ★★★★★ - Katrina 
 
This book had me HOOKED from page one up until the very end. If you like Greek Mythology based books with a modern twist, Oppression is definitely for you :)  ★★★★★  - Love, Lust, Books
 
Romantic, suspenseful, funny, and action-y...a story definitely worth checking out! I sooo cannot wait for book 2!  ★★★★★ - Lili
 
I read the sample at amazon.com and was hooked right away. I really enjoyed this book and with the ending am ssoooooooo glad to start the next one!!! Great read. It only took me 2 days! ★★★★★ - Britt

This book was AMAZING! I couldn't put it down!
★★★★★ - Tiffany

I love a story that takes off on page one and doesn't let you go, not even at the end. There's something for everyone... romance, action, intrigue, fantasy, emotions, and a long list of compelling and interesting characters.
★★★★★ - Author, Tia Bach
 
Don't you love it when a book wastes no time getting to the action? By action I mean Something Important Happens. Well, you don't have to wait long for Something To Happen in OPPRESSION. Barely three pages in and the opening scene ends in a chilling moment that, I swear, I could almost hear ringing in my ears! And the Somethings just kept coming!  - Best-selling author, Rachel Morgan
 
An awesome romance and a unique and intriguing world, well, I was up VERY late reading this one!  - Author, Meradeth Houston
 
Their old-fashioned love story had me holding my breath and rooting for them every step of the way. - Best-selling author, Holly Kammier
 
Oppression stands out in its genre! - Author, Carrie Butler

OPPRESSION

French Translation

Une fille, une prophétie, un destin, et le sort de tout un peuple entre ses mains !
Elyse a deux secrets. Le premier : elle vieillit cinq fois moins vite que la moyenne, et paraît donc avoir 18 ans alors que c’est une octogénaire. Le second : elle a un pouvoir de guérison. Pour Elyse, cela ne la rend pas extraordinaire. Mais ces secrets rendent sa vie périlleuse. Après la mort de ses parents, elle fait attention à protéger ses secrets. Une seule personne au monde connaît son âge et ses capacités : Betsy, sa mère adoptive. La mort de Betsy la pousse à déménager à San Francisco afin de se cacher des curieux. Elle rencontre alors William, un beau jeune homme qui lui révèle qu’elle n’est pas la seule à garder ce genre de secrets. Il a, lui, le pouvoir de persuasion par exemple. Il existe plein de ces «descendants», qui viennent des lignées de dieux grecs. Et les descendants ont les pouvoirs associés à leur ancêtre… Tous attendent Elyse, car elle possède le plus précieux et le plus désiré de tous les pouvoirs…

Italian Translation

Ce ne sono altri come lei. Tanti. E la aspettano da moltissimo tempo…
Elyse sa cosa significa mantenere un segreto. Lo ha fatto per tutta la vita. Due, a dire il vero. Per prima cosa, invecchia cinque volte più lentamente delle persone normali e, pur dimostrando diciotto anni, in realtà ne ha ottanta.


Secondo, il suo sangue ha il misterioso potere di guarire. Per Elyse questi elementi non la rendono speciale. Rendono la sua vita pericolosa. Dopo la morte dei genitori, è stata attenta a custodire il segreto il più possibile e solo un’altra persona al mondo conosce la sua età e la sua abilità.
O, almeno, così crede.


Elyse non è l'unica a saper mantenere i segreti. Ce ne sono altri come lei, sparsi per il globo, Discendenti delle stesse persone straordinarie che i Greci consideravano dei. Lei è una di loro e la aspettano da molto tempo. Alcuni per mettere fine a secoli di tradizioni che hanno oppresso il loro popolo con il pretesto di salvaguardarlo. Altri sono determinati a impedirle di realizzare il suo destino. Ma per Elyse il gioco è appena iniziato e non è disposta a stare alle loro regole.

La serie I Figli degli Dei è basata sull’idea che gli dei greci non siano mai stati veramente dei, ma una razza segreta che da secoli vive tra noi. I fan di Shatter Me, Percy Jackson, Divergent e Harry Potteradoreranno questa trilogia.

  

© 2017 by Jessica Therrien

  • Black Blogger Icon